How to win business

Practical ways to build your company's profile and be ready to do business with NSW Government.
On this page

Apply for schemes

NSW Government buyers often award work to suppliers on prequalification schemes. So, to be able to compete, it’s important to join schemes that match your business offering.

Once your business is on a scheme, buyers may sometimes reach out to you directly. If you are already on a scheme and seeking new business from NSW Government, it makes it easier for buyers to buy from you.

Things to remember

You need to register on eTendering before you can apply.

Once you have an account, and you’re logged in, you can apply to join a scheme.

Apply for tenders

NSW Government advertises business opportunities through eTendering.

Tendering is a competitive process where you need to submit a proposal that meets certain requirements within a set timeframe.

Did you know?

You can register for tender opportunities to be emailed to you that are tailored to your business. These can be based on keywords, categories or locations.

Sell through eCatalogues

eCatalogues connects eligible buyers with suppliers of goods and some services.

Once you’re approved as a supplier on a contract, you may be able to apply to upload detail of your goods and services to eCatalogues via a platform called the Supplier Data Portal.

To request access to the portal, contact the NSW Procurement service centre.

Supplier Code of Conduct

All suppliers to NSW Government must follow the Supplier Code of Conduct (PDF 93KB) to ensure:

  • no-one has an improper advantage
  • there are no anti-competitive practices
  • the procurement is open and accountable
  • the procurement is conducted with honesty and fairness.
Working with children

If you’re a trades person or delivery driver, you may need a Working with Children Check before working on NSW Department of Education sites, such as schools or childcare centres. It can take a few weeks to complete the check, so we recommend getting the check in advance. The certification lasts for five years.